Back to Discography

Discography > Farmhouse

Released 2000-05-16

# Song
1 Farmhouse
2 Twist
3 Bug
4 Back on the Train
5 Heavy Things
6 Gotta Jibboo
7 Dirt
8 Piper
9 Sleep
10 The Inlaw Josie Wales
11 Sand
12 First Tube
13 Driver
14 Mountains in the Mist

"Driver" and "Mist" are both Japanese import only.

  • Released May 16, 2000, but available for pre-order (as of 4/13/00, to be mailed just before the release date, with a free sticker) from Dry Goods, Phish's official merchandise arm.

  • Title comes from a song of the same title, about and named for a location Tom Marshall and Trey have spent time writing songs together.

  • Sales: "Farmhouse sold 88,776 copies, ranking it at #12 on the Top 200 Soundscan chart. It is the highest first week sales that Phish has ever had for a record. Billy Breathes debuted at #6 back in 1996, but did not actually sell as many first week copies as Farmhouse."

  • Tracks

    1. Twist

    2. Bug

    3. Back on the Train

    4. Heavy Things

    5. Gotta Jibboo

    6. Dirt

    7. Piper

    8. Sleep

    9. The Inlaw Josie Wales

    10. Sand

    11. First Tube

  • Official Installation:


Phish Opens The Doors To Its 'Farmhouse'

Edited by Jonathan Cohen / February 28, 2000, 4:00 p.m. EST

Phish will see its eighth studio album, "Farmhouse," released May 16 on Elektra. The album was recorded in guitarist Trey Anastasio's Vermont studio with producer Bryce Goggin. "Farmhouse" is the acclaimed rock quintet's first studio disc since the 1998 set "The Story Of The Ghost," and follows the winter 1999 release of the six-CD live box set, "Hampton Comes Alive."

A tracklist for "Farmhouse" has yet to be finalized, but the 12-track album is expected to feature a number of the unreleased songs performed frequently on Phish's fall 1999 tour, including the title track, "Get Back On The Train," "Gotta Jiboo," and "Heavy Things."

After two warmup dates on May 21-22 at New York's famed Radio City Music Hall and a week-long club tour in Japan, the band will embark on its standard North American summer jaunt, beginning June 22 in Nashville and concluding with shows July 14-15 in Columbus, Ohio. Touring is expected to resume in mid-September.

In other Phish news, a documentary about the band titled "Bittersweet Motel" will make its debut March 12 at the South By Southwest Film Festival in Austin, Texas. "Outside Out," a film by Phish bassist Mike Gordon, will also premiere. A theatrical release of "Bittersweet Motel," which profiles the band and its 1997 festival the Great Went, is also in the works.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Ode to the purported end of dot-coms (early 2001), to the tune of the "Farmhouse" by Phish (author unknown; submitted second-hand 4/19/01):

Welcome this is a dot com

We have layoffs here sometimes

And this time of year is bad

We are so very sorry

There is little we can do

But count them

They didn't care

Or not enough

They weren't there when things got tough

They told a lie and I got mad

They weren't there when things go bad

I never ever saw my options soar

I never really saw the ROI

I never ever saw the forecast bright

In the dot coms things won't be all right is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode